That Summer ~ Jo Huddleston Book one of the Caney Creek Series

Normally I don’t start my book reviews with the contents on the back of the book. Although with this particular book, I felt that the description would be helpful.  The back  cover reads as follows;

The Great Depression brings devastation to
The Southern Appalachians but love’s triangle survives.

To escape his poppa’s physical abuse and their dirt-poor farm life, Jim flees to an imagined prosperous city life where he can make his own choices, ignoring God patiently knocking on his heart’s door. Settled in town, Jim strays from God and the way of faith his momma taught him. He meets a girl and loses his heart … and meets another girl and loses his willpower. Jim wrestles with social and moral dilemmas as he makes a choice beside Caney Creek that will alter the lives of five people.

I thoroughly loved reading That Summer.  Author Jo Huddleston  has a gift within her writing to transport you back in time.  Each scene inside the pages flows smoothly into the next. I was up way past my Bedtime due to the fact I  didn’t want to stop reading!  As the reader I felt involved in the characters lives and found myself feeling the emotions they went through.

Sprinkled strategically through the book were relevant Bible Scriptures.  At times when faced with a difficult circumstance the scriptures really made a difference in seeing the whole picture of the situation at hand. They gave great perspective into the issues faced within the chapters .

From the start to the finish of That Summer, I felt as if I could audibly  hear the Southern accents of the characters amidst the pages.  It was also as if I was eavesdropping on the dialogue between characters.  The emotions were raw and real.

This book has piqued my interest. I am looking forward to the next books in the series!

Follow Jo on her Website, BlogFacebook and Goodreads.
Amazon Link


CWA Review Crew Disclosure Color-1

Leave a Reply

